35 reviews
Summary:
24
8
3
0
0
View by source:
Steve Berza
May 29, 2018
Melisa Bailey
Feb 20, 2018
I've lived at Element on Main since June of 2016 and will be moving out July 2018. I love my apartment! The flooring is gorgeous and the appliances are all up-to-date. I love the location, which is close to campus and to downtown Urbana. My neighbors are quiet and respectful. I enjoy using the fitness and business centers. Management is friendly, respectful, and helpful and every time I've put in a maintenance request it has been completed within 48 hours.
Toni Miebach
May 03, 2017
Jessica Doig
Feb 08, 2017
Jamie Homewood
Feb 08, 2017
Jamie Homewood
Feb 08, 2017
Jessica Doig
Feb 08, 2017
Cece Miller
Dec 21, 2016
Amazing place to live non discrimination very safe. Area..new manager michelle.in tony is ...great peoples very respectful profession....i been here 3month.i have not seen any insects....terminater even do a good job....sleep good very quiet....i have no problems at all..... im porter....in i dont tell lies
Waqar Zia
Nov 30, 2016
Emily Sanders
Nov 27, 2016
I love it here! I've been here for almost 4 months and the initial excitement hasn't worn off! -My apartment is a lot bigger than other studios I toured. -The building is clean and smells good (NO musty or urine smell like some other places; usually it smells like nothing at all but sometimes I'll get a whiff of cedar or something yummy someone's cooking!). -I get very little noise from my neighbors through the walls. -There's free parking on the street and in one of the lots. -Air conditioning in each unit. -It's a 5 minute walk to the bus stop (gold and silver lines) and it's through a cute neighborhood. If you go a little further you can get to a stop with the green line. -The management and maintenance people are so nice!! I'm a skeptic so I thought the warmth would decrease once they had me "hooked," but I've found they are just as friendly and helpful now as they were before I signed my lease. -Beautiful courtyard in the center of the south building, and I have keys to it too even though I live in the north building. -They just announced plans for a fitness center and business center! -Secure bike parking (no one has messed with my bike) and the surrounding area is pretty flat and bike-friendly. -Walking distance to downtown Urbana, including Pizza M/Flying Coffee Machine. I'm really happy and have renewed for another year! (I didn't post any pictures here, but they photographed my unit for the website so you can see them there. I'm in a studio and have a black couch.)
Sudhir Makkar
Nov 14, 2016
Cooperative and Cordial staff, close to campus, prompt maintenance all ameneties under one roof! Exterior and interior redone! Nice play to stay!
Krissy Imbriale
Oct 12, 2016
Jamal Hussain
Jul 30, 2016
Jamal Hussain
Jul 30, 2016
Awesome location with awesome management
Bryton Wood
Jun 18, 2016
Seriously I can't say enough about this place. Management is awesome and always wants to help, which is pretty rare for off-campus housing. I would recommend this place hands down. We are all loving the new renovations since the new management change!
Suravi Changlani
Dec 08, 2015
My husband and I have lived here since 2013, and we love it! All the staff is friendly and helpful, and maintenance issues are always addressed promptly. The best part, however, is the location. We can easily walk to the UIUC campus or catch the bus. The Urbana public library, the post office, several grocery stores, and the Lincoln Square Mall (which has a gym) are also within a short walking distance. There's nowhere in Urbana-Champaign I'd rather live!
Eric Berg
Nov 23, 2015
Love the new manager. Such a friendly person and always has a smile!
Eric Berg
Nov 23, 2015
Love the new manager. Such a friendly person and always has a smile!
Ashley Olbeter Wood
Sep 30, 2015
Marissa Reber
Sep 22, 2015
I love living here. My apartment is nice, affordable, and the location is excellent. The building is very quiet and the courtyard is lovely. I've been here over a year and I have no complaints. The staff couldn't be better, and they are extremely nice to my overly curious cat. 5 stars all around.
Grant Collard
Aug 28, 2015
Great location, great people. Highly recommended.
Jake Jarman
Aug 28, 2015
Location is great and the staff is friendly. Just a block away from grocery store and restaurants.
anonymous
Feb 22, 2011
I have lived at Landmark Apartments since 1967 for many reasons: the convenience of being close to the University of Illinois and grocery stores, galleries, coffee shops, restaurants, banks, hospitals, the mall and the Urbana Free Library. Also, the Landmark Apartments are carefully maintained by the staff of three and the manager who is in the office during the work week. There is 24 hour maintenance. The apartments are well-equipped with electric stoves, refrigerators, and air conditioners. Winter's heat is free. Snow is removed from the sidewalks and driveways during winter. Residents range in age from toddlers to octogenarians and are from many different countries. Tenants include professors, retired citizens, professional people, undergraduate and graduate students. The grounds are carefully kept, with large beds of roses and lilies, flowering shrubs, and mature trees. The lawn on main street and in the courtyard; elevators; the laundry rooms; the parking garage, carport, reserved parking, and off-street parking; bike racks; and picnic tables are all plusses. Landmark buildings are secure. You will like living at Landmark Apartments. Mr. Hendrics #122
anonymous
Sep 12, 2010
We love our apartment whenever the upstairs neighbor isn't home. It's big, clean, and has extra closets. The price is fine considering that heat and hot and cold water are included. HOWEVER. Noise carries amazingly between floors and ceilings, plus many of the ceilings are squeaky. This means (for me, a light sleeper) that I can only sleep if my upstairs neighbor is asleep or out. I have tried earplugs, white noise, and confronting him, but it hasn't worked because a) he has bass-y TV, musical instruments (!), and lots of friends, and b) I'm pretty sure that even if he did try to be quiet, I'd still hear the walking. I'm not exaggerating, it sounds like the ceiling is falling in. Just something to be aware of which you CANNOT see when you look at an apartment.
anonymous
Jul 27, 2009
Been here for three years and no complaints what so ever !
anonymous
Apr 10, 2008
I would say Landmark was a pretty nice place to live. It is not luxury housing, mind you, but it is not crappy either. For the price, it is very good. We used to have a 3-bedroom for $720/month. The management is ok, not super nice or friendly, but they do their stuff. It helps if you are nice to them yourself. The location is quite good, close to Strawberry Fields and Downtown Urbana restaurants and bars, and not too far from Schnuck's. It takes slightly less than 15 minutes to walk to Siebel Center on campus (on Main Street, a very pretty and pleasant walk). There is a convenient bus line to campus and downtown Champaign.
physjosh
Jan 28, 2008
The rent is low, especially for 3 bedrooms. The building is well-maintained: maintenance and management are on-site, and will be at your door the same day for maintenance requests (other than at the start of August, when everyone moves in and there is a rush). There is a lot of on-street parking (free) nearby, and the building has both garage, covered, and uncovered lot parking available.
tailll
Oct 09, 2007
Spacious and clean. Water and heat are included in rent so I do save a lot in winter. Lived for four years till graduation. Maintenance guys always came in the same day i left the notes to office. Staffs are nice. They do pest control every month so there is no bug problem. It is a big plus that I can have cats. I received the check with full deposit (both rent deposit and pet deposit) back about one week after I moved out.
ceraphin
May 04, 2007
I lived at Landmark for about 4yrs until I got my degree and left. When I had roommates, we first lived in a 3 bdrm then a 2 bdrm and then a 1bdrm (everyone got their degree before me). The landlord was always very helpful (not always pleasant, but helpful). The cleaning staff and maintenance staff worked hard everyday to keep everything nice. I never had any issues with the appliances, plumbing, etc. The building is older, but they always painted the hallways and cleaned everything. There are a lot of international graduate students who lived there, so you would have all different kinds of strong cooking smells. I just open the windows and it's pretty much gone. The heat is included so it's great in the cold winters here.You can walk to campus (~15min) or take the bus. The supermarkets and bars/restaurants are also close by.
anonymous
Jul 23, 2006
Overall, I'd say this is a decent place to live, but there are a few things to keep in mind, mostly concerning the management.Grounds and Apartment:-Generally good neighborhood, though if you're in the northern building, know that it is right across from Carle and there are railroad tracks, so you will hear trains and ambulances.-Clean common areas, nice apartments in generally good condition, though I think I may have some water damage in the bathroom.Maintenance:-I've never had any major problems. On one occasion, there was a wiring problem with one of the light fixtures - this was fixed pretty much immediately.Management:-When I moved here, the place was managed by Pat Robertson, who was a wonderful manager. She left, and the new management is very gruff and unforgiving. Do not expect any flexibility whatsoever. Also, the attitude is very condescending.-Rules: you cannot burn candles and your fire alarm must be in working order or you can be evicted. They check the alarms once a month when they do the pest control spraying.-Late fee is $25 dollars after the fifth of the month (sometimes the fourth).-Emergency lock-outs - cost $25 to be let back into your apartment after hours.-Renewal: you need to renew by the end of January, no matter when your lease is actually up.-Guest parking: there's a special "Guest Parking lot", but it is only for 2 hours, or your guest will be towed. Either have guests park on the street (except from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m.) or ask in advance (this usually requires describing the car or giving the licence number). This can be a problem if you have overnight guests, especially if you don't know in advance that they will be staying.Price and utilities:-Heat, water, trash are all included. Power isn't.-Parking is rented: $25 lot, more for the carport and garage.-Judging by what I've found in my current apartment search, I'd have to say the price is reasonable.Overall:As I said, overall, this is a decent place. Residents are generally friendly and respectful, and I've never felt even remotely unsafe here, even as a single woman. However, I feel that the management is only out for more money at this time and want to be as controlling as possible.
landmarker1979
Aug 08, 2005
I've lived in landmark for 2 years. The management is on-site, so if you have a problem you just knock on the door. It's a nice location, along a quiet street. Several buslines are nearby. You can find parking on the street, or in the lots/garage. Sometimes their maitenance can be a little shoddy: to fix my door which wasn't shutting properly, they placed the latch plate at a skewed angle. it looked ugly, but it worked and was covered when the door was closed.
anonymous
Apr 20, 2005
Great place, very good service
anonymous
Mar 29, 2004
This is a GREAT place to live. My husband and I lived there for 2 years and never had any complaints. The manager was ALWAYS pleasant to us and willing to help in any way she could. Whenever we had a maintenance request it was ALWAYS taken care of in a timely manner, and we only have 2 things that needed fixing the entire time we lived there. The complex is always kept clean. The neighborhood is safe with nice walking areas. Grocery, banking, restaraunts, and campus are all in walking distance. I highly recommened this for a place to live!
anonymous
Mar 01, 2004
anonymous
Oct 13, 2003
Reasonably priced, quiet, culturally diverse apartment building in a pleasant Urbana neighborhood. A ten minute walk to the northeast edge of campus, and a five minute walk to downtown Urbana. 1-3 blocks from at least four bus lines. Well-managed. Highly recommended.
View more